The 2010 Let’s Elope Stakes Won By No Evidence Needed Over Response

September 5th, 2010

The $200,000 Group Two Let’s Elope Stakes (1400m) lit up Melbourne’s Flemington Racecourse on Saturday, as the Spring Carnival Racing action continued.

Thirteen mares took to the track for the 2010 Let’s Elope Stakes final field, with punters who backed the slightly longer odds receiving the better payouts at Sportsbet.

No Evidence Needed, trained by John Thompson, improved on her last jump by winning the 2010 Let’s Elope Stakes.

The Shamardal mare finished fourth in the Group Three Cockram Stakes (1200m) in her first up jump this spring, and went one better on Saturday.

The four-year-old saw James Winks take to the hot seat and the pair proved too strong a force for the rest of the field.

Winks guided his mount slightly off the pace, which picked up the sprint inside the final furlong to claim a short head win.

Response made a convincing last dash attempt with a strong finish, beating Live In Sin by a neck which finished third.

No Evidence Needed is likely to target a Group One Myer Classic (1600m) run on October 30 for the spring, with jockey Winks confident she can do well.

Also taking place on Saturday was the Group Two Makybe Diva Stakes (1600m) which saw a gallant run by returning Melbourne Cup winner Shocking, the Group Two Danehill Stakes (1200m), the Group Three Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m), and five other great races.

If you are looking for the most competitive horse racing odds for the spring, then head to

There you will find early market odds for the upcoming spring features along with the latest odds for next weekend’s events.

2010 Let’s Elope Stakes Results

Place Horse Trainer Jockey
1 No Evidence Needed John P Thompson James Winks
2 Response Matthew Ellerton & Simon Mazhra Craig Williams
3 Live In Sin Peter G Moody Luke Nolen
4 Lady Lynette Robert Smerdon Nicholas Hall
5 Believe ‘N achieve Mark Kavanagh Michael Rodd
6 Mont Fleuri Lee Freedman Dwayne Dunn
7 Irish Lights David Hayes Steven Arnold
8 Dariana Bart Cummings Damien Oliver
9 Two Hills Allen Browell Darren Gauci
10 Silent Surround William Smart Simon Price
11 Small Minds John P Thompson Dean Holland
12 Rhythm In Paris Jason Warren Ben Melham
13 My Emotion (NZ) Michael Kent Brad Rawiller
Scratched Tonic Darren Weir Steven King